The Kickoff to Wedding Season

This weekend was an honor for me and Mr. Library.  We were invited to attend a wedding for one of my friends from elementary school.  K and I met in second grade, and though our lives took very different paths, we have loved and accepted each other throughout the years.  We have kept in touch every once in a while, and I knew it was important for me to invite her to our wedding.  I received a call from her about two weeks ago, and in the middle of chatting, she stopped and said, “Oh, guess what?  You’ll laugh, but I’m getting married in two weeks!  Want to come?”  Thus began the kickoff to our wedding season.

The wedding location was about 3.5 hours away from our home, so we packed up, booked a motel room, and hit the road on Saturday morning.  With the wedding at 7:30 in the evening, we had enough time to get to our motel, unpack, eat some lunch, and take a nap.  Yep, the nap was very much needed.  The room we booked was pretty adequate, and as we discovered later, came with a pretty fabulous breakfast in the morning.

Once the time came, we got spiffed up and left enough time for any misturns.  When dealing with coastal Maine, you want to make sure you have written directions, a GPS, and a whole lot of time.  You never know which part of those directions are going to steer you wrong.

We did find the location the first time, and it happened to be a beautiful lake house down a long dirt road.  It would have been the perfect place for an outdoor wedding if it hadn’t have been raining.  The wedding was moved inside during the afternoon, so the living room was decorated beautifully as a result, overlooking the setting sun on the lake.  It was gorgeous.

Before I introduce the key players, I suppose I should get to the heart of this wedding.  This wasn’t a regular wedding.  According to the state of Maine, it couldn’t be.  K married a lovely woman named L.  This past fall, the majority of voters in Maine voted to veto the right to same-sex marriage.  I have never been more ashamed of my state.  K and L were highly involved in the effort to get people to vote to keep the law, and that is where L proposed, but when the law was overturned, these two did what any engaged couple in love would do:  get married anyway.  Screw the state laws; these two lovely ladies are in love, and they deserve the same right to commit themselves to each other as any other couple.  So while this marriage isn’t recognized by the state, it is recognized by the rest of us who love and support them.

The staircase by the kitchen acted as the aisle for the wedding party.  K’s bridesmaids came out in green, while L’s bridesmaids wore purple.  It worked very well with their peacock feather motif.

L came down the aisle first with her grandfather.

Then, it was K’s turn.

Once the two brides were united at the front, the lovefest began.  This was where I knew I should have worn waterproof mascara.  Everything made me tear up.  Mr. Library held me against him throughout the ceremony.  I can only imagine that he was thinking what I was thinking:  this will be us next!

The wedding was gorgeous, filled with love, and very much about the two of them.  I understand that some people don’t agree with same-sex marriage, but I do not understand how people can look at photos like these and only think thoughts of disgust.  There is nothing more romantic than two people who love each other committing themselves to sharing, growing, and maintaing that love for the rest of their lives.  That’s what marriage is about, not the sex of the person.

Congratulations to K and L!  We are so happy for you, and we cannot wait to see you again at our wedding in six weeks!

Have you been to any gorgeous weddings lately?

Leave a comment